Use the Options screen to set options for backing up your data file, Reminder Management, QuickBooks, and Label Creep Adjustment. To access this screen, open the Tools tab in the Keystone ribbon and click Options. When you are finished with it, click the button.
The tabs on the Options screen are described below.
The File Maintenance tab manages backup functions. This tab is only visible if you are using Open Security, or if you are using User-Level Security and have Administrator privileges.
If you want to have Keystone prompt you to back up your data file when you close Keystone, check the Prompt for Data Backup upon Exiting? box on the File Maintenance tab.
Here are some strategies for deciding whether to check this box.
The Destination field shows the current directory in which backups of your data file are currently stored. Click the button to select a different location for your backups.
Backing up your data is absolutely essential. If something should happen to your database (data file becomes corrupted, computer crashes, computer is stolen, etc.), then it is lost forever if you have not backed it up. For more information about backups and backup strategies, refer to the Backup Strategies section.
Use the Reminder Management tab to set personal preferences for how reminders are shown when you start up Keystone. These settings are specific to each user running Keystone. If various volunteers and staff share a computer, each user can have their own reminders settings through their own username.
The Show At Startup pane allows you to set whether you want reminders to appear when you start Keystone.
Choices for automatic reminders are:
If you have Keystone set to Open Security, you can select the initials of any person whose reminders you would like to view. If you are using User-Level Security, you can only view other user’s reminders if you have administrator privileges or are logged in as the Administrator. Otherwise you are restricted to viewing your own reminders.
You will see the Reminders and MTD News screen when you start Keystone if you have anniversaries or reminders that fall within the settings you enabled on this tab. You also can open the Reminders and MTD News screen by clicking the button on the Reminders and MTD News Management screen. To open the Reminders and MTD News Management screen, open the Tools tab in the Keystone ribbon and click Reminder Management.
Keystone allows you to post closing fees, mortgage payments, and donations directly to QuickBooks. Because your affiliate may have QuickBooks on all computers, some of them, only one, or none at all, Keystone allows you to configure the link with QuickBooks based on your setup. Below are descriptions of how you should use this tab to set up your link with QuickBooks. For more information, see the Using Keystone with QuickBooks section.
Throughout this Help library, “QuickBooks” is used to refer to the entire family of QuickBooks products, not one particular version.
QuickBooks is like Keystone in that it has a front-end program that you use to work with your information and a back-end database that stores that information (called a 'company file' in QuickBooks). The words 'Local' and 'Remote' in the following refer to where the QuickBooks front-end program is located. 'Local' indicates that it is on your computer; 'Remote' indicates that QuickBooks is not installed on your local computer and that you intend to use the QuickBooks front-end via some other user's system on your network.
Use the Get MTD News check box to control whether Keystone downloads news from the MTD web site when you log in. A check in this box means the news feature is turned on. Note, however, that if the Get MTD News box is unchecked on the Affiliate Info tab in Affiliate Setup, this option does not appear here on the Other tab. For more information, see the MTD News Service section.
When the Get License From Web box is checked, Keystone validates your software subscription license via the web automatically. This is checked by default. You should only uncheck this if your computer is not connected to the Internet and you will use the File-based Renewal Process to keep your Keystone annual subscription up-to-date. Note: If you uncheck this box and your license expires, Keystone will switch to read-only mode. For more information, also see the Keystone Subscription Service and Licensing section.
Use the Other tab to set the Label Creep Adjustment for printing labels in Keystone. For more information, see the Adjusting Label Spacing section.