Database Selection

There are instances where you may want to work with your database but do so in such a way that you don’t affect anything in your live database. These may include:

The Database Selection feature provides you with the means to do these things.

Changes made in a copy of your main database have no effect on your main database nor can they be transferred to the main database.

However, if you are using the Document Management functions of Keystone, because your documents and pictures are not stored in your database, even if you switch to a copy of your database, the documents and pictures you see are still the original files and not copies. Do not do anything in a copy of your database related to your documents that you wouldn't normally do in your main database.

To switch to a copy of the database, open the Tools tab in the Keystone ribbon and click Switch to Copy. When you are using the main database, you can only switch to a copy. When you are using a copy, you can only switch to the main database.

When you choose Switch to Copy, you are given the option of making a new local copy of the database or using a copy you already have. These copies are stored in your …My Documents\MoreThanData\Keystone folder. Each time a new copy is made, it overwrites the previous copy. As a result, if you want to keep a copy you have been working with, you need to store a copy of it elsewhere under a different name.

If you are using a copy of your database, you will see the word Copy on the startup screen and on all reports and receipts to make it clear that you are not working in your main database. The System Information screens, available on the Help tab of the Keystone ribbon, also indicate whether the data file you are working in is a copy. If it is, it shows the date of the copy.

The Switch to Copy option on the Tools tab of the Keystone ribbon changes to Return to Main Db when you are using a copy of your database.

When you are ready to switch back to the main database, open the Tools tab in the Keystone ribbon and click Return to Main Db.